top of page

Clos Mon Vieux Moulin Winery-Ahn


Photo courtesy of Clos Mon Vieux Moulin Winery

A few weeks ago, I was invited by Luc Duhr to view the new tasting rooms at the Clos Mon Vieux Winery. As I was almost sure a glass or two of wine would be involved, I immediately accepted.

What I didn’t know was that I would be greeted by one of the kindest men on earth. Upon meeting Luc I immediately felt at ease. I imagine he makes all his customers feel this way. I liked him so much, I was really praying that his wine would be good too. Spoiler alert- it was.

“Mon Vieux Moulin” is located in Ahn. Although it is the smallest village of the Moselle, it is also the one that hosts the largest number of wineries in the region. In additional to great wine tasting possibilities, there is an official hiking trail that runs through the village, which makes it a great place to spend the day out.

I didn’t know much about the winery or the wines it was producing so I was very interested to see what I would discover. It turns out that this is one of the most interesting wineries I’ve visited. The Duhr family is responsible for introducing both Gewürztraminer (1932) and Pinot Noir (1975) on the Luxembourgish market.

Currently Luc’s cousin Frank is responsible for the production of the wine while Luc manages the business, but they’re not alone as both of their fathers still remain actively involved. It was touching to hear Luc talk about their relationship with the older generation as you can see there is endless respect and admiration.

I tasted many wines, each one offering something different. You can see there is a definite focus on quality rather than quanity, but the variety of wines offered, in terms of vintage, ageing process, grape variety, means that there is something for everyone.

The brand new tasting room is gorgeous with floor to ceiling windows overlooking the vineyards. The view is breathtaking and the perfect environment for relaxing over a glass or enjoying an afternoon discovering new wines with friends.

If you’re interested in a tasting, book an appointment by email or phone or you can pop by this weekend for their open days as part of the Wine Taste Enjoy festival.

To try:

-Chardonnay, 2016 “Élevé en Barrique”

-11 Generations (see what they have); these are special wines from great vintages and they are only sold after several years of ageing (a rarity in Luxembourg!)

The Clos Mon Vieux Moulin winery

25, rue de Niederdonven, L-5401 AHN

+352 76 07 46


bottom of page